Email Us!
Username: Password:

Lost password
 Remember my login 

All forums
 Music production & Gear talk

"Refreshing" low-bitrate audio files.

Printer friendly

All users can post new topics in this forum. All users can reply to topics in this forum

Author Thread  
Samination
Advanced Member

Sweden
13,150 posts

195 hardcore releases
Samination has attended 17 events
Posted - 2012/10/02 :  14:48:36  Show profile Send a private message  Visit Samination's homepage
Ok. Let me start with an background story first.
I've been making mixes now for over 9 years. Back then 192kb/s audio files where considered to be an 'OK' rate for audio files, but we all know that changed very quickly. Until last year I've basicly only saved my mixes into 192kb/s (it's free people, if you want high quality, go buy the real songs :P), but I've recently started to save my mixes in 320kb/s (aswell as storing a RAW/Lossless copy as a backup)...

Now to the problem I am having at the moment. I wish to try normalizing the volume of my older mixes, to make the overall loudness higher, compareable with my latest mixes. Since I'm not using a simple gain edit (I'm using multimax), the audio stream will be changed, so I will have to resave the files completely.

I've read that it's a very bad thing to transcode (convert a lossy format to another, or change bitrate up AND down) a lowbitrate, but how much is the loss? The mixes are recorded with mostly 192kb's to start with, and stored into 192kb :P.

Buttom line is: Do refreshing/normalizing overweight the loss that might appear?
and in what bitrate should i save it in? Store it at higher bitrate and hide the "original lower bitrate", or to store in 192kb, and loose some "added" audio from the refreshing process?

Or... yea, I could always redo the mixes completely (which I was thinking of doing with some of the mixes) :P

http://samination.se/
---------------------------------------------

Alert moderator