Email Us!
Username: Password:

Lost password
 Remember my login 

All forums
 Music production & Gear talk

Christmas is coming...

Printer friendly

All users can post new topics in this forum. All users can reply to topics in this forum

Author Thread  
llamawrangler

United States
29 posts
Posted - 2011/12/10 :  18:17:36  Show profile Send a private message
...and I want to get myself some cheap gear so I can dj this year! Any good sets I could get for relatively cheap? ($400>) I don't want to invest an insane amount because I'm new to this whole thing, but any ideas regardless? They don't necessarily need to be the whole shebang either, I'm mainly just asking for good production things I could get for less than $400.

On a similiar note, how exactly do you start djing places? I read a few guides online, but I'd rather hear it directly from a person. I'm 16, but I would probably start when I'm 17 (so i have experience and have made a few tracks) DJing friends school parties isn't really an opinion (I refuse to dj katy perry or lady gaga), but I do know some 17+ clubs about a half hour away from where I live.

Alert moderator
Lorenzo.Tweakn
Advanced Member

United States
1,327 posts
Lorenzo.Tweakn has attended 2 events
Posted - 2011/12/10 :  18:31:40  Show profile  Send a private message  Visit Lorenzo.Tweakn's homepage
since you live in illinois; im assuming you're talking about the chicago clubs, they dont just book anyone. you have to be a "somebody" or have an inside connection. my suggestion to you is to find a local rave crew and just start attending the events often. become friends with the promoters, djs & regular ravers. then eventually start passing out demos of your mixes n try getting booked. it'll prolly be an opening set at the event. but hey. you all start somewhere.