Lost password
 Remember my login 
 All forums
 Music production & Gear talk

Getting a new computer!

Printer friendly
Page: 
of 2

All users can post new topics in this forum. All users can reply to topics in this forum

Author Thread  
H3RO

United States
145 posts
Posted - 2011/05/02 :  05:37:22  Show profile Send a private message  Visit H3RO's homepage
I've been saving for awhile and might be able to get a new computer pretty soon. And I've been told the cheapest way to do it is to build if from scratch. I've never built a computer before so I have a few questions:

Since this is going to be a production computer, I know a I need a good processor and a large hard drive, but what else do I need?

What are the components of a computer that I need to have in order for it to function?
I know I need a motherboard, processor, hard drive, graphics card, sound card, cooling system(?) and a body. Is there anything I'm missing?

Alert moderator
ozmium
Advanced Member

United States
521 posts
ozmium has attended 1 event
Posted - 2011/05/02 :  12:47:50  Show profile  Send a private message  Visit ozmium's homepage
I make songs of of a laptop and i dont seem to have any problems, besides the soundcard.
in the other room, my brother in law is always shoving his 2000 dollar computer in my face. xD

http://soundcloud.com/ozmium

Co Owner of Hardcore energy.

http://www.youtube.com/user/HardcoreEnergyPromo

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hardcore-Energy

Alert moderator Go to top of page
DJ_FunDaBounce
Advanced Member

Colombia
1,997 posts
Posted - 2011/05/02 :  17:15:25  Show profile  Send a private message  Visit DJ_FunDaBounce's homepage
RAM memory and a second hard drive perhaps so as to keep programs separate from project files.

http://www.brightspeedrecordings.com/

whispering

Finland
8,453 posts
whispering has donated money to the site
Posted - 2011/05/02 :  17:36:58  Show profile  Send a private message  Visit whispering's homepage