Email Us!
Username: Password:

Lost password
 Remember my login 

All forums
 Music production & Gear talk

CDJ 2000

Printer friendly

All users can post new topics in this forum. All users can reply to topics in this forum

Author Thread  
DJ Complx
Average Member

United States
242 posts
Posted - 2009/09/23 :  16:36:24  Show profile Send a private message  Visit DJ Complx's homepage
So a few days back, pioneer released their new line of CDJ's....cleverly named the CDJ 2000.

personally, I was actually disappointed with them for a few reasons.

im studying to be designer and when i looked at it, i was immediately turned of by just how it looked...the design choices they made were just plain bad. square corners are a step back from what the CDJ 1000's round corners IMO. again the over all look was just bad.

As far as function goes... again more bad design choices, they kept pushing "a dawn of a new species" which made it sound like it was going to be something either radically different or a major change in the ways DJ's work and function. If you watched any of the promo vid that they had on youtube with interviews with different DJ's, they kept saying that they felt that "staring at a computer screen took away from the interaction that the DJ had with the crowd" In reality all pioneer really did was take away the computer and put a tiny display, that only shows at max 6 tracks at a time, on the player. The added "quick jog function" (that you use with your finger to scan through the track) seems like its just a fast forward button, not that different IMO. The fact that you can hook it up to different DVS's (i think they mentioned something about serato and traktor) seems counter productive and kind of defeated the whole "takes away the computer screen element."

Not everything is bad though... they added the ability to hook up the pacemaker system into the tables seemed really cool.

thats about what i got out of it and thought.....